Research in Brief 79

South Africa is the only country in sub-Saharan Africa to have enacted a carbon tax to date. Although the country was ahead of the curve when it began considering the tax’s implementation in 2010, it took until 2019 for the Carbon Tax Act to be passed (RSA 2019). By this time 58 carbon taxes in 46 countries and 31 subnational jurisdictions had been implemented. This Research in Brief is a summary of ICTD Working Paper 150 by Lucy Baker.


Lucy Baker

Dr Lucy Baker is a Senior Research Fellow in the Science Policy Research Unit at the University of Sussex and Visiting Associate Professor in the Trilateral Research Chair in Transformative Innovation and Sustainable Development, University of Johannesburg.
Read the full paper