Webinar: Strengthening Intergovernmental Collaboration for Effective Property Taxation

image of Nairobi with logos of ICTD and ATAF
Past Event
30
June
2021
to
30
June
2021

About the event

Unlike most sources of local revenue, responsibility for the different aspects of property tax administration in Africa is often split between central and local authorities.

In many countries, central governments have, since the colonial period, retained responsibility for land titling, maintaining the cadastre, and property valuation, while other aspects of rate-setting and property tax collection usually lie with local governments.

As a result, effective property taxation requires strong collaboration between central and local authorities. Yet, in practice, the way responsibilities are split is often unclear and effective collaboration is lacking.

This webinar will explore the key challenges of intergovernmental collaboration as well as lessons and solutions for improving this for better property taxation, with case studies from Tanzania, Ghana, Kenya and Angola.

The webinar will be moderated by: 

  • Colette Nyirakamana, Programme Lead, African Property Tax Initiative (APTI/ICTD)
  • Nara Monkam, Director of Research, ATAF
  • Soukayna Remmal, Research and Communications Associate, ICTD

The guest speakers will include:

  • Monica Obongo, Deputy Director, Land Valuation, Ministry of Lands and Physical Planning, Kenya
  • Odd-Helge Fjeldstad, Research Professor, Coordinator: Tax and Public Finance, CHR Michelsen Institute
  • Fariya Mohiuddin, Senior Tax Officer, Tax Equity, International Budget Partnership  
  • Frank Ohemeng, Lecturer, Department of Political Science, Concordia University
  • Carla Almeida, General Tax Administration, Ministry of Finance, Angola

This event will have simultaneous translation between English, French, and Portuguese on Zoom. Or, you can watch the livestream on YouTube here without interpretation.

This webinar is the third and final of a series of three webinars that is being organised by the ICTD’s African Property Tax Initiative (APTI) in partnership with the African Tax Administration Forum (ATAF).

The webinar series is being held in the lead up to ATAF’s 6th African Tax Research Network (ATRN) Congress scheduled to take place from 6-8 September 2021. See the details of the call for papers  here .

  Time:

  • 9 am – 11 am EDT (Toronto, New York)
  • 1 pm – 3 pm GMT (Dakar, Accra)
  • 2 pm – 4 pm WAT/GMT+1 (London, Lagos)
  • 3 pm – 5 pm SAST/CAT Time (Johannesburg, Lusaka)
  • 4 pm – 6 pm EAT (Nairobi, Kampala)
Past Event
30
June
2021
to
30
June
2021